You are on the
Your country
FacebookTwitterYoutubepinterestGoogle PlusRss

Add this page to your virtual brochurePrintEmail
Visit : Museum/Discover, Monument

Orval Abbey Monastic Museum

Orval Abbey Monastic Museum
© Orval
  • Address:

    Abbaye Notre Dame d'Orval
    6823 VILLERS-DEVANT-ORVAL (FLORENVILLE)Belgium

  • MAPS: Google Maps
  • Opening Dates
    • from Sunday 1 March 2015 to Sunday 31 May 2015
      • Daily : 09:30-18:00
    • from Monday 1 June 2015 to Wednesday 30 September 2015
      • Daily : 09:30-18:30
    • from Thursday 1 October 2015 to Saturday 31 October 2015
      • Daily : 09:30-18:00
    • from Sunday 1 November 2015 to Thursday 31 December 2015
      • Daily : 10:30-17:30
    • from Friday 1 January 2016 to Monday 29 February 2016
      • Daily : 10:30-17:30

Visit the museum to see what monastic life at Orval was like before the reconstruction of the monastery after its destruction in the 1793 revolution.

Six 18th-century rooms (architect: L.B. Dewez), beneath the current basilica.
Scale models of the old and new abbey.
Sections: ironworks, furniture, paintings, religious plate, archaeology.
Souvenirs from the the abbey's past.


Guided tours for groups only (+ 20 pers.) - reservations in writing, at least 8 days in advance - languages: French, Dutch, English, German.

Monastic products: beer, cheese.
Only the ruins of the old abbey and the church are open to the public.
Monastic order: Cistercian Trappists. The Abbey products are sold on site, or can be sampled in the "Auberge de l'Ange gardien".

Access: follow the E411, exit 26, then follow the N85 and N88.




PARKING FOR COACHES Car park RESTAURANT Cafeteria Shop

Information

  • tel. : +32 (0) 61 31 10 60
  • fax : +32 (0) 61 32 51 46
  • website : http://www.orval.be
  • email : ruines@orval.be

PLUSTourist information on the town FLORENVILLE